And Now, My Favorite Academy Awards Moment of All Time, Ever

With the Oscars coming up this Sunday, I felt it apropos to share my favorite Oscar moment of all time, ever, and no, it’s not Alan Ball winning Best Original Screenplay for American Beauty. It’s Fiona Apple reacting to Paul Thomas Anderson losing to Alan Ball, which is sublime.

In a roomful of enthusiastic supporters and polite poker faces, hers is a look of unmistakable disappointment that says,”The world is bullsh*t, and Magnolia was robbed.” What I’m trying to say is it’s the real American beauty of the night, and also, forever.

And because I think about this moment all the time and had to make a GIF to preserve it into all eternity, let’s look at that again (and again, and again):

fiona-apple-academy-awards

You know, sometimes there’s so much beauty in the world, I feel like I can’t take it, and since I feel like I could watch this GIF on repeat forever, I think I shall.

RIP. Here lies my blog (2009-2016). It died from an overdose of true beauty (this GIF).

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

