I Call Shenanigans: On Madonna’s Best Actress Oscar Snub for Evita

evita madonna rainbow tour

I wouldn’t go so far as to say Madonna was robbed of an Oscar for her performance in Evita. After all, 1997 was the year that Frances McDormand (consummate actor, national treasure) won for Fargo, so the best performance really did win. But after staying up too late rewatching Evita on Netflix last night, I realized it’s some kind of hot nonsense that Madonna didn’t even get a nomination. Madonna is pretty much flawless in Evita. Here, let me count the ways:

  1. Her performance is great in a great-great way instead of a camp-great way, and for once I mean that as a compliment.
  2. Her arms look so incredible in her sleeveless dresses that you have no choice but to feel a deep shame for your droopy chicken wings.
  3. She sounds amazing–maybe the best in all her career.
  4. She’s very 1940s-Joan Crawford-glamorous at times with the hair and the furs, and…
  5. Ugh, did I mention how f***ing flawless she is?

My point is that she wasn’t even nominated for Evita, and the Academy didn’t then make amends with a special category like “Best Performance by a Madonna”, so I have no choice but to call shenanigans. Shenanigans, Oscars! Shenanigans, I say!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

