Greta Gerwig Dancing to Arcade Fire’s “Afterlife” Is a Delight!!!

greta gerwig youtube music awards

Call me Lermontov, but Greta Gerwig is so charming that I want her to never stop dancing, ever. She could be like the indie darling Victoria Page, except without that tragic mess with the train. But I digress…

The YouTube Music Awards aired this past Sunday, and I missed them. Mostly because I tend to spend my Sundays in the company of lesbians, but also because I’m an Old who does not like change. Besides, the Crotchety Old Queen Prevention Hotline (1-888-NO-BITCH) stopped taking my calls, so I can’t afford yet another award show leaving me bewildered by the popular zeitgeist. Nope and no thank you! Now fetch me my vegan and gluten-free prune juice!

Anyways, I nevertheless tracked down Arcade Fire’s performance, because when I’m not being an old lesbian, I’m being an old lesbian hipster. Greta Gerwig dances, Spike Jonze directs, and while it might sound like an all-you-can-twee buffet, it’s really quite delightful:

YES. Don’t get me wrong, all of this is so great, but Greta Gerwig is especially great! Oh, how her earnest dance moves and backup troupe of indie moppets warm the cockles of my heart! And that’s mighty impressive considering the crap I’ve eaten! That tired lump should’ve stopped ages ago! Dance, Ms. Gerwig, dance dance dance dance DON’T GO NEAR THAT TRAIN!

And speaking of things I’ve put in my mouth, this performance has gone and given me a case of the feelings. Again. Now where’d I put my eatin’ bib?

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

