The Most Important Question Raised by the Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Teaser Trailer

I recognize that this new trailer for the two-part Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows raises all sorts of questions.  For example, if you’ve never read any of the Harry Potter franchise, you might be asking yourself the following:

Or, if you’re like me, you’ll tell Sister Aloysious over there to go shove it up her habit and then try and figure out just how much you’re going to cry at the end of the movie.  (After all, “Am I going to cry?” is such a stupid, stupid question.)

ANYWAYS, I’m pretty sure one question–nay, the most important question!–we’re all asking ourselves after watching this trailer has nothing to do with cry-baby tears or self-aggrandizing promotion or whether or not really need to tell the story of Harry and Ron and Hermione wandering a forest over the course of two separate films.  No no, we’re all wondering what in the world is Hermione wearing in that one scene?  Which scene?  This scene:

Don’t get me wrong, I simply adore this jacket.  Seriously, right after you tell me what she’s wearing, I’m going to ask you where she got it and if it comes in my size (size 10, but who’s measuring?).  My only reason for asking, though, is because the last time I read Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, JK Rowling never described Hermione Granger’s sense of style as Gay Dandy:

Meets Rosalind Russell in His Girl Friday:

Then again, seeing as I read Deathly Hallows on a steady diet of black coffee and Tostino’s pizza rolls, I probably missed a detail or two.  You know, from all the skim reading as I raced to get to the end.

That, and the delirium.

Much love to Clothes on Film for the pic of Rosalind Russell.  And for reading my mind.

2 Responses

  1. If you want a serious answer, my guess is that she was wearing that when she used polyjuice potion to pretend to be a woman working at the ministry of magic.

    Like

  2. As it turns out, that was indeed the case.

    Like

Leave a Reply

