Nobody Puts Baby in a Horner’s Official Response to Lady Gaga’s “Alejandro”

Action:

Reaction: Ermm, neat?

Don’t get me wrong: on a purely aesthetic level, “Alejandro” is a slick–if chilly–experience.  Sure, previous videos have been more unabashed efforts in batshit insanity and/or delirious camp (two qualities I’ve long adored in Lady Gaga’s oeuvre), but I suppose some sort of restraint in those arenas is the price of artistic growth, so brava!  I guess?

Added to that, I’m sure there’s a way interpret “Alejandro” as nearly nine minutes of back-up dancers in various states of fascist-themed fetish gear, Lady Gaga in various states of Catholicism-inspired dress/undress, machine gun bras, pageboy haircuts, and overtly gay imagery (you can’t call it homoerotic when it’s anything but subtle, Shot of Push-Ups That Look “Conspicuously” Like Butt Sex) that coalesce into some sort of treatise on Foucauldian power structures and queer revolution; unfortunately for me, I’ve recently been gorging on far too much pop culture garbage to fit into my size-28 pretentious pants and try waaay too hard to convince myself I’m anything other than strangely underwhelmed by “Alejandro.”  It’s entirely serviceable, possibly even genius, but by no means blowing my mind.

And besides:

HOW THE FUCK CAN I BE EXPECTED TO CONCENTRATE ON ANYTHING (except nightmares of the Robot Apocalypse) WHEN LADY GAGA’S BEEN ASSIMILATED BY THE BORG?!?

That is all.

4 Responses

  1. It didn’t blow my mind like Bad Romance did, but after the balls-to-the-wall crazy that was Telephone, this is nice calmer video from Lady GaGa.

    It was pretty to look at. And of course, I’m gonna spend some time taking it apart. And then get drunk. Or the other way around.

    Like

  2. […] a Serious Case of Géjà Vu Oh, “Alejandro”…your music video may have left me underwhelmed, but you’re still such a fabulous song, much like this ridicufabulous dead-bird hat on top of […]

    Like

  3. […] most likely in response to a certain someone’s “shocking” (it was not shocking) latest video?  No?  Because you, like me, try and avoid Katy Perry like a […]

    Like

  4. […] most likely in response to a certain someone’s “shocking” (it was not shocking) latest video?  No?  Because you, like me, try and avoid Katy Perry like a […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

