Joan Crawford Knows Kung Fu

Sure, technically it’s Judo, not Kung Fu, but let’s focus on what’s important in this video, and what’s important is that this is from a movie that stars Joan Crawford as a mental hospital’s head nurse who teaches Judo to the other nurses so they may use it against the ward’s patients.  And even moreso?  This movie exists, and its poster is fabulous:

Sweet mercy!  I’m happy enough that The Caretakers features Evil Nurse Joan Crawford with karate-chop action.  I mean, Joan Crawford performances are like Pokemon toys for gay men: you gotta catch ’em all!  But then I’m confronted with all these images female hysteria in the poster, and I get so overwhelmed, and all of a sudden I’m out in the streets making a scene.  Sorta like Polly Bergen in The Caretakers:  

Okay, okay, so exactly like Polly Bergen in The Caretakers.  Though you can’t really blame me.  Particularly given how I’m made aware of this movie, the fact that it’s unavailable on DVD, and the following serendipitous tidbit all in the span of a single day:   

Really, I’ve totally been screaming in front of my computer just like that.  The only difference is nobody around me is quite so concerned.  After all, they don’t call this a breakdown.  

They call it Tuesday.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

