Damn You Trailer for The Good Guy! Why Must You Exploit My Weaknesses as Well?

Well, given that it was just last night that Shmathan and I made plans to make Alexis Bledel’s quarter-life-crisis romcom Post Grad the next installment in Nobody Puts Baby in a Horner’s Ladies of Leisure series, it seems only fitting that I now stumble upon another Alexis Bledel quarter-life-crisis romcom:

And while this poster’s totally fine, I have my doubts about the plot summary from ComingSoon.net:

Ambitious young Manhattanite and urban conservationist Beth (Alexis Bledel) wants it all: a good job, good friends, and a good guy to share the city with. Of course that last one is often the trickiest of all. In the new romantic dramedy, Beth falls hard for Tommy (Scott Porter), a sexy, young Wall Street hot-shot. But just as everything seems to be falling into place, complications arise in the form of Tommy’s sensitive and handsome co-worker Daniel (Bryan Greenberg). Beth soon learns that the game of love in the big city is a lot like Wall Street – high risk, high reward and everybody has an angle.

Look, I’ve nothing against another movie about white peoples’ problems.  Like any other white person, I know what it feels like when Trader Joe’s is out of your favorite flavor of organic yogurt (it feels TERRIBLE); and I’ve heard it’s totally a Sophie’s choice when two handsome, charming, successful guys are pursuing you.  Seriously, other than by the size of their junk, how do you rationally decide?

That said, this a movie about white people with problems who are also making shit tons of money on Wall Street, and I refuse to quell my populist rage against the financial machine just because Alexis Bledel wants to play a love game.  Unless you set those rich white people problems to swoony indie pop, in which case my easily manipulated imaginary ovaries are all over that shit.

Such is The Good Guy trailer, y’all:

DAMNIT!  You had me at montage of numerous longing glances and romanticizing shots of New York City and guys making cry faces (sometimes in the rain!  SWOON!) and Alexis Bledel dramatically backing up against her apartment door, all of it edited together with “Your Ex-Lover Is Dead” by Stars as the soundtrack.  How did you know songs that could be/or in fact are off The O.C. soundtrack are my inner-teenage-girl kryptonite?  It’s just not fair!

Equally effective in getting my ass into the theater, though, is the real reason we should all be jealous of Alexis Bledel’s character:

Don’t get me wrong.  I’m all about Bryan Greenberg quietly pining after you, but–with the casual yet impeccable style as witnessed above–can we all just agree that Anna Chlumsky would make the best BFF (Best Friend Ferocious) ever?  Yes, we can.

But most important of all?  More than carefully orchestrated trailer montages?  Or hot, sensitive guys silently vying for your affection?  Or fabulous glasses frames and perfectly tousled hair?  It’s that The Good Guy trailer irrefutably proves what I’ve long suspected: Alexis Bledel movies are the new Mandy Moore movie, which is to say they’re the new natural habitat for the young gay male.

The Good Guy comes out in limited release February 19th.  Don’t even front that you won’t be seeing it with your gay boyfriend.

3 Responses

  1. We are so seeing this and squealing like schoolgirls.

    Like

  2. First off, am I the only one who thought that Alexis Bledel was younger than me? No way that girl’s 28. I had her pinned for 23.

    Second, you don’t have to be gay to like Mandy Moore. See: me in 19th grade English.

    Like

  3. politeness and timeliness have nothing to do with sexual orientation. sadly.

    it bothers me that alexis bledel is second to a no-name dude. i thought hollywood was becoming more progressive than that? or maybe that’s just for renee zellweger.

    Like

Leave a Reply

