Lady Gaga’s “Alejandro” Gives Me a Serious Case of Géjà Vu, Part Deux

Oh girl, I know two posts about a single Lady Gaga song in less than 24 hours might define excessive, but I just can’t.  Stop.  LISTENING:

So color me predictable when I tell you I’ve been doing a lot of deep thinking about this whole “Alejandro”-sounds-like-Ace-of-Base situation because it’s an important situation (the most important!) that demands plenty of contemplation.  And because I’m in serious need of a more productive hobby, like knitting.  Or human organ trafficking .  Whatever.  Tomato, Clamato, moving right along.

Anyways, I’ve come to the realization that “Alejandro” doesn’t just remind me of “Don’t Turn Around.”  No no.  It’s also reminiscent of Ace of Base’s own anthem to stone-cold bitchfacedness:

See what I’m talking about?  It’s uncanny how reminiscent “Alejandro” is of “Don’t Turn Around.”  This is, of course, a very good thing, but I’m nevertheless starting to suspect that “Alejandro” is the Brundlefly-esque merging of Lady Gaga’s camp/pop sensibilities a cassette tape of Ace of Base’s The Sign:

And I stand by that assertion.  As well as my slammin’ Photoshopping skillz (skills so slammin’ they’re spelled with a z).

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

