You’re Tearing Me Apart, Copyright Laws!!!

It’s no lie that I tend to find the fickle nature of YouTube clips and their battles with copyright law to be terribly annoying.  I can’t stand that any music video that falls under ownership of the Universal Music Group cannot be embedded, and the same goes for the trailers and clips of anything owned by Disney.  This explains the disappearance of Shmathan’s favorite clip on parenticide, which was surreptitiously removed from YouTube on account of copyright infringement, but that doesn’t make it any less annoying.  Or confusing, for that matter.  I personally would rather not want to claim any credit for such an embarrassingly ridiculous clip, but that’s just me.

Anyways, it’s with a heavy heart that I must today announce that the Powder Blue clips have been taken down from YouTube.  Yes, the glistening gems that inspired much camp glee have been taken from us.  I’d like to think all my ridiculous ranting and raving in some way preserved some of the train-wreckery that graced this blog, but I can’t help but feel like there’s now a Powder-Blue-shaped hole in my heart.  Of course, these clips cannot compare to the glorious Godawfulness that is watching Powder Blue in its entirety, but that doesn’t mean I’m not going to put my cranky pants on over this situation.  Sure, I cannot claim to understand the finer nuances of the legal matters behind this indecency, but I can Photoshop up some indignation with the best of them:


really powder blue

I seriously want some answers!  It’s not that these clips somehow “misrepresented” Powder Blue as a bad movie.  Having seen Powder Blue, I can most certifiably attest to the fact that it’s in fact a terrible movie.  A terrible movie that I love for said terribleness, but terrible all the same.  A handful of clips circulating around YouTube aren’t going to cut into your Powder Blue revenue.  If anything, let’s not forget that the clips were reason enough for me to buy Powder Blue on DVD, so technically they provided you financial benefit.  Frankly, Image Entertainment lawyers, you do a disservice to yourselves and all of us bad movie aficionados and camp enthusiasts by removing these clips from the internet.

The fact is that you’re in possession of a movie so incredibly bad that it truly rivals Showgirls.  It definitely is the Showgirls of low-budget-Magnolia-knock-offs.  It’s a train wreck through and through, a cinematic effort so thoroughly misguided that it truly must be seen to be believed.  Why not keep the clips online as a way of keeping the interest in Powder-Blue-as-camp-masterpiece alive?  Sure, the trailer’s pretty good at doing that on its own, but I can’t help but feel that you’re missing out on a vital potential audience.

After all, there are plenty of clips of Jessica Biel’s stripping scenes online, and I’m quite certain that the audience that wants to see Powder Blue for Jessica Biel’s boobs isn’t going to rent it when they can bring up those clips on YouTube.  That demographic probably keeps a box of Kleenex and a bottle of hand lotion nearby.  I’m just sayin’.

Whatever, I will at least applaud the internet for giving when the suits doth taketh away.  This Jessica Biel tribute video may be loaded with spoilers, and it’s also unnecessarily long (nearly ten minutes!), but sweet mercy does it show off how ridamndiculous Powder Blue is.  There’s some side boob and lots of “sexy” stripping, so it’s probably NSFW, but that doesn’t make it not the funniest thing I’ve seen in ages:

See?  I told you!  Powder Blue is TERRIBLE, but in the best ways possible.  Hopefully this video sticks around and helps spread the gospel, but I imagine it too will fall victim to the dreaded guillotine that is the copyright law.

Lawyers, y’all: They’re the fun killers of the internet.

3 Responses

  1. […] and, soon after, copyright laws will have this clip going the way of the dodo, the dinosaur, and my beloved clips from Powder Blue.  Until then, though, let’s all bask in the sublime, almost Lynchian pleasure […]

    Like

  2. […] that important moments from our lives will remain digitally preserved for all eternity (or at least ’til they’re taken down by the suits), which is obviously a good thing.  After all, it means we can all relive that one time Celine […]

    Like

  3. […] As KJ noted–and as is all too frequently the way of the interwebz–the Single Greatest Artistic Achievement of the 21st Century has already been removed from […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

