It’s Official: Where the Wild Things Are Is My Favorite Movie of 2009

I don’t even care that Where the Wild Things Are isn’t out for another two months.  Actually, I do care because I’m over-it-and-a-half with this whole “patience” thing.  Seriously, the first trailer has been around since the end of March!  MARCH!!!  Spike Jonze, the madness must stop!  Even from the first teaser, I was convinced:

where the wild things are the bestest

So convinced from the get go.  But now?  I’m double-convinced!

The  full trailer has finally arrived, and it’s chockfull of stunning imagery, the Arcade Fire goodness, and enough childhood innocence to reduce you to a blubbering mess.  Just like a bomb made of hyper-concentrated nostalgia for the halcyon days of youth, it’s pretty much designed to make a teary-eyed believer out of even the staunchest of cynics.  So have you got your Kleenexes ready?  Good.

Let’s do this thing:

Oh jeez.  Not only does this trailer confirm that Where the Wild Things Are is going to be my favorite movie of the year, but I’m also pretty much convinced I’m going train wreck during this entire movie.  If I can’t not cry during the trailer, I can only imagine what the full-length movie is going to me.  Seriously, this may be my most embarrassing theater-going experience since I cried seven times (SEVEN!) during Finding Neverland.  Hell, it’s entirely likely  this is going to be even more embarrassing, but I’m hardly complaining.

The fact is that this trailer is pretty much the way you do a movie trailer right. They clearly knew they had something good with the acoustic version of the Arcade Fire’s “Wake Up,” so they’ve kept it in the full-length trailer (and I hope they do, or I’ll be an entirely different sort of shit show during the movie).  Added to that, they’ve kept the plot incredibly nebulous, which means that seeing the movie can for once actually be a surprising experience.

And even if the movie’s plot really is a paper-thin excuse to have Max go on a series of dizzy set-pieces with the Wild Things, I couldn’t care less.  The visuals are simply stunning, the Wild Things are absolutely incredible looking, and a genuine sense of wonder bursts out of every frame.  Seriously, 2009 needs to step up its game immediately, because Where the Wild Things Are is officially looking like the film to beat.

Oh, and let’s just agree right now: The next to months are now officially the longest months of our lives.  See you in theaters October 6th and not a day later, y’all.

Kudos to Videogum for catching wind of the new trailer.  And making me cry at work.

2 Responses

  1. I’ve been waiting for this movie a long time, also. Can’t wait!

    Like

  2. I am bawling. And it comes out just before my birthday! PREZZIE FOR ME!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

