The Video For Carolina Liar’s “Show Me What I’m Looking For” Is Terrible, So I Naturally Can’t Stop Watching It

File this blathering under Benjamin at his timeliestness, but let’s talk about the video for “Show Me What I’m Looking For”:

Obviously fake guitar playing that services nothing whatsoever?  Check.  Scruffy rocker in desperate need of a haircut definitely and bath quite possibly?  Check and double check.  Unnecessary aerial shots meant to convey the “drama” of the song?  Checkity check check check.  Congratulations!  You’ve graduated from the Academy of Embarassingly Cliched Music Videos.  With honors!

I’m not trying to rag on Carolina Liar or anything, in part because I have that song on my iPod because I enjoy the sound of melodrama, and also because ragging on Carolina Liar is Shmathan’s job, but why is this sort of uninspired garbage being passed off as a music video?

I’m not saying every video needs to be a “Strawberry Swing” to rank, but “Show Me What I’m Looking For” is at least overblown enough as a song to demand something less meh.  I’m disappointed in you, band capable of making me want to see movies starring Alexis Bledel.  Your music video most certainly did not show me what I’m looking for, aka, utter ridiculousness.

If you’re going to milk melodramatic cliches, you gotta know what works.  Next time, let your video tell the story a middle-aged woman whose glamorous youth has long faded.  And be sure perform in a windy rain storm.  In slow motion, natch.  And also be sure to actually include the choir, damnit!

Oh, and one more thing: No more aerial shots.  They remind people of Creed, and that is never acceptable.

2 Responses

  1. That “wounded puppy” expression on his face just fills me with a desire to smack him upside the head. And hey, I didn’t rag on them! I gave them the courtesy of listening to their entire album all the way through, and even gave them my blessing to continue producing derivative music so that good music could be free of marketing exploitation!

    Like

    • But, like Christina Crawford, you made it quite clear: You are not one of their fans.

      Like

Leave a Reply

