The Box Trailer Gives Me All Sorts of Vapors

And not just because it looks great.  Don’t get me wrong, The Box does look badass.  Really:

Having grown up in the South, I’ve gotta admit that those Southern accents are kinda terrible, but otherwise there’s so much to love!  Like Cameron Diaz’s hair (so feathered, so fabulous!), and James Marsden (make him a star, Hollywood!), and Frank Langella super creepy busted face (so obscured, but still so scary!).  And then there’re all that unsettling surreal imagery and the fact that this trailer is thankfully edited to maximize the head-trippy weirdness and minimize your understanding of the overall narrative arc and, damnit, why must it not be out ’til October?  I’ve only so much patience to give!

Of course, I must admit that I may be totally biased.  I genuinely enjoyed Donnie Darko as the cult classic that it is, and Southland Tales was such a gloriously batshit insane fever dream of pop culture and political frustration that it was easily one of my favorite films of 2007.  That movie’s fairly been considered a cinematic train wreck, but it’s one of the wonderfully compelling train wrecks I’ve ever seen.  And besides, as we’re all well aware, I love me some train wrecks.  The fact that The Box seems more narratively focused just gets me all sorts of giddy.  But like I said, I just might be biased towards liking anything Richard Kelly does.  Why?  Here’s why:

richard kelly dreamboat

Perhaps my years at UGA simply twisted my sensibilities and shattered my propensity for good taste, but I’ve a thing for frat boys. Is it the hyper-performed masculinity that lends them such an appeal, or perhaps I just really liked hearing the rumors about them playing Biscuit.  Whatever the case, I like ’em, and Richard Kelly’s the dreamboatiest of the keg-standing dreamboats.  

Firstly, he just has the look, and it’s a look that sends me into a conniption fit when you’re as handsome as he is.  Added to that, his films frequently embrace head-tripping sci-fi narrative staples like time travel and alternate histories, so he’s a nerd.  And on top of all that, Southland Tales came from his utter disdain for George W. Bush’s presidency and the Iraq War, so liberal leanings pretty much send me over the edge and cause me to combust with desire.  Oh, and according to his bio, there’s also this:

Spent more than two years working on a rewrite of the script Knowing, only to find a lack of sufficient financial support for the project. Currently, the project appears to have found new life with Alex Proyas directing.

GAH!!!  I mean, am I in love?  Yes, I’m totally in love.  It’s official, y’all: Richard Kelly’s career is my boyfriend.

One Response

  1. […] Seriously.  Though I’m keeping The Box. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

