Who Exactly is Adventureland Made For?

Every time a commercial for Adventureland comes on during Gossip Girl, I lose all self-control as I turn to my Gossip Girl viewing buddy Brynn and screechily ask, “Who is this movie made for?”  We are, of course, fast-forwarding through that nonsense thanks to the miracles of DVR, but I still want to know who precisely wants this movie?  Just look at this thing:

Yes, movie trailer, life after college is not exactly what any of us expected.  Maybe if you weren’t so focused on such a stupid idea as taking a post-graduation trip through Europe and instead focused on finding a real job like the rest of us do, you wouldn’t be in this conundrum horribly plotted movie.

I really don’t grasp how this is an actual movie that got a greenlight from the studios.  Sure, we’ve all worked crappy summer jobs with quirky coworkers, and I myself can even sympathize in working a post-graduation job in retail to fund my summer exploits before moving to New York City for grad school, but I wouldn’t say that’s a sturdy concept for a movie because nobody, myself included, would want to see that.  Whoops, I just became my dad!

The problem with Adventureland, like all movies that romanticize a summer of discovery and lessons learned before entering adulthood, is that these summers don’t in fact exist.  We wax nostalgic about these moments because they’re the final moments of womb-like security that comes with the adolescent impulse to live for the moment before we’re birthed into the often frustrating world of financial responsibility and bills and 9-to-5 work schedules and all the other joys that come with being a grown-up.  It’s a universal experience, for sure, but also one that you eventually realize is completely unrealistic once you gain a little perspective.  These movies aren’t based in any truth; they’re just an opportunity for one filmmaker to cinematically masturbate about their own refusal to grow up and immature yearning for times long past.  Let me play you a dirge on my tiny violin while you cry me a river.  Or not.

Throw in the fact that Kristen Stewart is painfully annoying with her perpetual face of disaffected youth and that this movie is set in 1987 (80s nostalgia in movies is completely a completely lazy technique for adding texture to a story unless its Romy and Michele’s High School Reunion or Grosse Pointe Blanc; those movies are great), and it’s made its way to the top of my do-not-want list.  This movie is made for nobody, but I’m sure it’ll make bank in theaters.

Woof.

(Also, as noted in the comments, I had a brain fart while initially writing this and claimed it was Kristen Scott, not Kristen Stewart, who is in Adventureland.  The correction has been made, and I obviously need a fact checker.)

5 Responses

  1. Kristen Scott?? You may want to head over to IMDB and see what her real name is before you comment. Spent the $7 and see this movie, it is actually a great movie. Sure it can’t actually happen in life as summer jobs are not that fun no matter where you work, but its a funny movie adn who really wants to watch real life on the big screen.

    Like

    • Good point. I definitely had a brain fart with the name; thanks for catching it. The change is being made.

      Like

  2. haha it happens to everyone!

    Like

  3. I liked the movie and reviewed it at maxreview.wordpress.com if you want to see what I had to say.

    I think the reason it works is exactly why you say you wouldn’t want to see it. These aren’t normal teenage movie characters. They aren’t able to go to Europe or across the country or anywhere without worrying about money. You can relate to them much more. You’ve been there, people in high school and college are going to be there soon. This is one of the only teenage movies tells its viewers that in order to get ahead in this world, the best person to depend on is yourself. Plus, it’s funny. It is a comedy after all.

    Like

  4. Also, try to disregard any grammar errors haha.. I’m taking a break from studying for a 9am midterm tomorrow. Kinddd of burned out 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

