Funny People Is the Least Plausible Comedy. Ever.

Lots of people like to get all cranky about Judd Apatow’s movies because the formula is pretty standard.  They’re all unrealistic male fantasies in which men always get women way out of their league by emphasizing the importance of personality over looks while simultaneously not adhering to that same standard with its female characters.  Fair enough, but I’ve frankly found the Apatow leads to be an attractive crew.  Seth Rogen’s good looking, and Jason Segal’s flat out attractive.  Throw in their sharp sense of humor, and I’m sold.  Added to that, I can’t call shenanigans on the gender politics of a group of movies that still cares to actually respect its women by making them characters as opposed to caricatures. 

But I must call shenanigans on Funny People:

This movie is so far from being grounded in reality that it’s entered the far reaches of outer space.  In what world would any sane person leave Eric Bana, particularly when it’s Eric Bana that’s also smart enough to be FLUENT IN CHINESE?  That the chief issue in an otherwise perfect is his going to a massage parlor, possibly to be finished with a “happy ending,” and that’s enough to drive you into the arms of ADAM SANDLER???  

Shenanigans, y’all.

I’ll admit that I’m not a huge Adam Sandler fan, whereas I’d gladly watch Eric Bana make sandwiches for two hours.  Preferably shirtless.  So perhaps I’m a bit biased.  But seriously:

 
holymosesbana

When I saw him put on that armor in Troy, I could have about died, which wouldn’t have been bad because Troy was absolutely dreadful and pretty much irredeemable after that scene, but I digress.  I could live an incredibly happy life married to an idiot that looks that good naked, but when he’s clearly intelligent, well, you don’t let that go.  Ever.

Of course I’ll still see Funny People because looks pretty funny and endearing, as Judd Apatow does so well, and I relish the opportunity to see Eric Bana on the big screen. But I’m not buying that conceit, not for one second.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

