U2 NLOTH Haiku Review: “Fez–Being Born”

Benjamin made a promise to review every track off No Line on the Horizon, one a day, leading up to the official release on March 3.  Whoopsies!  Unfortunately, he can’t write about music for a damn as he studied film; it’s all “chiming Edge guitar” this and “propulsive rhythm by Larry and Adam” that, blah blah BLECH.  Instead, he’s embraced the new-found experimentation that U2 has clearly found: why review when you can haiku?  So put on your crazy boots, ‘cos here comes the next round:

So, until earlier today, I didn’t know what the lyrics were to “Fez–Being Born.”  So I looked them up.

BAD IDEA!

I’ll admit that it’s a personal thing, but I find the physical act of birth completely horrific.  Yes, the birth of a life is a beautiful thing; and no, this is not about some homo-based fear of lady parts.  I’ve heard too many stories of what can happen to women during the act of birth to think it could ever be pleasant.  And I’ve also seen Romance, which is a fascinating exploration and dissection of female sexuality that ends with a bona-fide child birth, which simply visualizes my previous assumption.  Understanding the lyrics to this song is, in a certain way then, kinda like having a relapse with post-traumatic stress syndrome.

fez-haiku

That all being said, I still love the song.  I’ll just pretend that I still don’t understand the lyrics so as to not drop to the floor of a subway train in apoplectic shock when I hit the second verse.  In such a scenario, everybody wins.

‘Til then, I won’t even talk numbers.  This album is almost over 😦  Next up is “White as Snow.”

As always, you can stream No Line on the Horizon on U2’s Myspace, so you can hear of which I haiku.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

