Oh Look, Here’s Katharine Hepburn on a Skateboard

Tony Hawk can suck it, y’all, ‘cos this is everybody’s new Lord of Dogtown (whatever the Catherine Hardwicke reference that means):

Apparently this photo comes from Katharine Hepburn’s autobiography, Me: Stories of My Life, which raises the following important questions:

  1. Why in the world haven’t I read Katharine Hepburn’s autobiography? It’s an autobiography written by Katharine Hepburn. With pictures of Katharine Hepburn. Like this one of Katharine Hepburn riding a skateboard. I sorry, but SOLD. (Katharine Hepburn!)
  2. Also, who wants to give me $40 so I can also get a used audiobook read as by the author? Seriously, few things truly delight me more her clipped, New England diction. It’s like slathering fresh Maine lobster and putting it in my ears. Delicious.
  3. Does this mean I can now start referring to Katharine Hepburn as “noted cinema thespian/extreme skateboarder”? I suspect not, but f*ck it. As far as I’m concerned, of course it does!
  4. Am I going to use the pleasingly surreal sight of Katharine Hepburn on a skateboard as an excuse to what I do believe to be the most indisputably batshit insane picture of Katharine Hepburn ever?

Obviously I will, because that’s just what I do. Katharine Hepburn in a silver moth costume from Dorothy Arzner’s 1933 aviatrix drama, Christopher Strong, y’all. Still the reigning pictorial champ of the Katharine-Hepburn-shaped part of my heart, but now with a close contender.

Much love to Buzzfeed for this extreme discovery (X-TREME!) and Triple R for the Christopher Strong pic.

2 Responses

  1. So love this picture–and am so happy to see you back blogging!

    Like

  2. Love this post, the biography is lovely (so fun to read, even when it meanders)…but I love Kate with a vengeance.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

