Much Like My Beloved Eno Sounds, MGMT’s SNL Performance of “Brian Eno” Is Delicious

Before I watched it Sunday morning (because grandmas and gay men who act like grandmas are both physically incapable of staying up past 9:30 on a Saturday night), I wasn’t sure what to expect from this:

This is mostly because I’ve learned my MGMT lesson since that one time I didn’t know what to expect from the “Flash Delirium” video, and I’m not one to make the same nightmare mistakes twice in my lifetime, or at least until an ample amount of time has passed for me for me to decide I want another ride on the Bad Idea Express.  It’s also worth noting, though, that I didn’t expect them to play their love letter to Brian Eno (and my personal favorite track off Congratulations because it’s awesome and because le duh) as their second number, so that in itself was something pretty awesome surprise:

But let’s be clear on one thing, while my love for “Brian Eno” may never quite reach my love for Brian Eno, even more surprising to me was how much this guy sure brings it awfully close:

According to Stereogum, this is guitarist  James Richardson, and he is killing it.  I mean, how can you not say that when he’s bringing such intense ROCK FACE that you’re afraid his eyeballs are going to shoot out of his skull and across the room like a couple of Ping-Pong balls?  And just when you think he’s done bringing FACE?  He brings EVEN MORE FACE:

YESSS.

So there you have it, ladies and gentleman.  MGMT’s “Brian Eno” on SNL: epic love song to the Eno sounds, winning live performance for MGMT, and introduction to the current frontrunner nominee for the 2010 FACE Masters.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

